Getting personal.

It has been two months since I’ve been here and though it has been absolutely wonderful and I’ve met some lovely people, I still feel like there’s something missing…

I think I’ve figured out what that something is now. It’s familiarity. I miss being around people who are from my culture or have been exposed to it.

Before you move away from home, you don’t think about such things, because you take them for granted. Once they aren’t a part of your day to day life anymore, you realize just how important they are.

Now i know that people who are familiar with Lisbon will say “Well you have Martim Moniz here, why don’t you go there? Many Asian people live in that area.”

Yes, many Asian people do, but Asia is a huge continent and they aren’t from the part of Asia that I am familiar with (They are mostly from Bangladesh or Gujrat). Plus, being a person of Asian descent from Tanzania, my culture is slightly different from that of the Asia that i am familiar with.

I do know that I will eventually get used to this new atmosphere, and I know that moving here was the absolute right choice for me, this is just a small bump in the road to be honest. My advice to all the readers who are planning to move to a completely foreign country is: be prepared. Mentally. Psychologically. Because it may not be as easy as you think. Life seldom is. You will always be faced with something completely unexpected that will through you out of balance for a while.

Have any of you gone through something similar? If so, how did you overcome it?

Do let me know in the comments below, i would love to hear about it.

Ciao for now 😊

One Reply to “Getting personal.”

  1. Thanks for sharing this!
    I feel the same way sometimes. I live in Sweden and everything is so different here. It is taking me time to cope as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

